Investing in our Future -

The Annual Scholarship Program

For over 20 years, DCU has provided a scholarship program designed to assist students in the pursuit of a higher education with nearly $900,000 in scholarships being awarded.

Annually, DCU for Kids will award up to 90 scholarships totaling approximately $165,000 to graduating high school seniors judged most likely to excel at a college or university.

Recipients are chosen by an impartial panel of college educators who base their decisions on scholastic achievement, community involvement, leadership skills, character and integrity, recommendation letters, as well as an essay submitted by the student.

The Annual Scholarship Program will accept applications starting Friday, December 7, 2018. Please review the Official Rules and FAQ’s before submitting your online application.

Entry Information:

  • Students in their senior year of high school who plan to attend a state or nationally accredited college or university are eligible to apply for the DCU Memorial Scholarship.
  • Applications and all supporting materials must be submitted by Friday, March 1, 2019 at 3pm (EST) and must be submitted electronically through our Online Scholarship System. All materials must be uploaded to your application and submitted by the deadline date and time. Any materials received after the deadline date will not be considered for review.
  • Scholarships are awarded on academic merit, teachers' and/or guidance counselor references, an original essay, awards and recognition, and extracurricular and community service activities. An impartial panel of college educators will judge participants’ entries.
  • Scholarship winners will be notified in early May 2019 by email.
  • More information can be found on our Frequently Asked Questions page

Schedule of Events:

  • Friday, December 7, 2018 – Applications available.
  • Friday, March 1, 2019 at 3pm (EST) – Applications and all supporting materials must be submitted through the online scholarship portal.
  • Early May, 2019 – Scholarships will be awarded. Those selected will be contacted by email. Names of those selected will be posted below.

Official Rules:

  1. Judging Criteria – The winning students will be the ones judged most likely to excel in college as determined by an impartial panel of college educators. They base their judgments on the following factors: a transcript of your high school grades for senior year (to date) and junior year (full year), academic merit, two written letters of reference from any junior or senior class teachers and/or guidance counselors, an essay judged on the quality of writing and the reasoning used, awards and recognition, extracurricular and community service activities.
  2. Entry Qualifications – To enter, the student must be a graduating high school senior and be planning to attend a state-accredited or nationally-accredited two or four-year college or university. DCU employees, volunteers, and their immediate family members are ineligible.
  3. The Essay – The essay should answer "Why I should receive a DCU Scholarship" and be no more than 300 words in length. The essay will appear as a question within the application. Please remember that a DCU membership has no bearing on whether or not you receive a scholarship. Scholarships are based on the judging criteria outlined in section one of the official rules.
  4. Schedule – Applications and all supporting materials (including transcripts and letters of recommendation) must be received through the scholarship portal by 3pm (EST), Friday, March 1, 2019. Applications and materials received after the deadline date and time will not be reviewed. Winners will be notified by email in early May 2019.
  5. Publicity – By entering winners agree to have their names published in DCU newsletters, signs, website, affiliated websites, and news releases announcing the results at DCU's discretion.

2018 Winners

2018 $2,500 DCU Scholarship Winners:
  • Akshay Sambandham — Greensboro, NC
  • Caroline Senyszyn — Fort Worth, TX
  • Dakshin Rathan — Tampa, FL
  • Elise Chan — Westborough, MA
  • Jack Charles Wu — Westlake, OH
  • Jaira Mary Joyce G. Mendoza — Los Banos, CA
  • Lidia Balanovich — Nashua, NH
  • McKay Malcolm Smith — Provo, UT
  • Neeharika Bandlapalli — Austin, TX
  • Pranav Indiresha Iyer — Solon, OH
  • Romila Santra — Overland Park, KS
  • Samantha Keating — Jupiter, FL
  • Sanjna Das — Lexington, MA
  • Sonny Wai Cheung Mei — Boston, MA
  • Sriram Kotta — Cerritos, CA
2018 $2,000 DCU Scholarship Winners:
  • Ananya Jambhale — Dublin, OH
  • Andrew Kim — The Woodlands, TX
  • Anna Lawrence — Wilmington, NC
  • Edith Pan — Sunnyvale, CA
  • Jessica Yin — Southborough, MA
  • Julia McCoy — Methuen, MA
  • Karthik Vuyyuru — Grand Rapids, MI
  • Kathryn Russell — Grafton, MA
  • Lokraj Srinivasan — Hillsborough, NJ
  • Margaret Kleiman — Hutchinson, MN
  • Matthew Kondamudi — Nashua, NH
  • Mohak Jain — Westford, MA
  • Naya Burshan — Worcester, MA
  • Quinn C Ferreira — Tewksbury, MA
  • Revika Singh — Robbinsville, NJ
  • Ria Paradkar — Colorado Springs, CO
  • Sana Nadkarni — Andover, MA
  • Sreeja Varanasi — Columbia, SC
  • Xiaoying Zheng — Northborough, MA
2018 $1,500 DCU Scholarship Winners:
  • Alamin Momin — Spring, TX
  • Alexandra Allen — Cedar Park, TX
  • Aneesh Reddlapalli — Ballwin, MO
  • Anh Hong — West Roxbury, MA
  • Brinda Prasad — Pflugerville, TX
  • Brock Dyer — Barre, MA
  • Clarissa Wong — Southborough, MA
  • Harini Srinivasan — Cottonwood Heights, UT
  • Ishaan Bhatia — Unionville, CT
  • Julia Slack — Overland Park, KS
  • Kathryn Samuelson — Newmarket, NH
  • Kaylin Marie Carpenter — Tyngsboro, MA
  • Kristina Rivera — Ashland, MA
  • Megan Ann Zachariah — Sugar Land, TX
  • Megan Claire Reninger — Olympia, WA
  • Mei Zhang — Edmond, OK
  • Michele Cung — Andover, MA
  • Miriam Regis — Desoto, TX
  • Moriah Lim North — Attleboro, MA
  • Nathan Coram — Dracut, MA
  • Nicole Crowley — Southborough, MA
  • Paige Morse — Southborough, MA
  • Patrick Ryan Wilcox — Boylston, MA
  • Petra Asani — Apple Valley, MN
  • Resham Jariwala — Cedar Grove, NJ
  • Robert Ignatowicz — Staten Island, NY
  • Siddharth Ravi — Fairview, PA
  • Sonja Eiseman — Williamsburg, MA
  • Sophia Greszczuk — Stow, MA
  • Soummitra Anand — Frisco, TX
  • Stephanie Lynn Hopkins — Beckley, WV
  • Tanya Gupta — Birmingham, AL
  • Tarang Saluja — Roslindale, MA
  • Theresa Hsieh — Northborough, MA
  • Trinity George — Auburn, PA
  • Trisha Meera Ballakur — Andover, MA
  • Tushna Farokh Eduljee — Mooresville, NC
  • Varun Boopathi — East Brunswick, NJ
  • Victoria Chang — Baytown, TX
  • Victoria Healey — Franklin, MA
  • Wynne Yi-Ting Chen — Portland, OR

All DCU employees, volunteers, and their immediate family members are ineligible to apply to the DCU Memorial Scholarship Program.